Hi gang…. I know, I know, I’m a day (or two, by the time this is edited and posted) late in my mid-week reflection.  I guess that’s what a 10 day long vacation can do to your brain.  It takes a while to start thinking like a functioning human being again.  Vacations are like a double edged sword.  They are amazing and awful all at the same time.  Yes, amazing AND awful.  You heard me.  The amazingness is the easy part- the relaxation, the beauty, the time with loved ones and little ones.  The awfulness is the mess that comes along with a vacation.  The mounds of laundry, the exceptions to the rules, the off schedule sleep patterns, and the not so healthy diets.  So, as we come down from the amazingness of our vacation, here’s a recap of our mid-week happenings (over the hump and a day late)….

1. Our baby responded well to the cool midwestern air.  She grew an inch of hair, sprouted 3 teeth, and learned to crawl.  All in a week.  Whew.

2. My nursing days have come to a bittersweet end.  Gone are my late night snuggly nursing sessions (sad).  But also gone are my in-car pumping sessions (bonus).  And I can now wear a dress to work.  Major bonus.

3. As we transition back into reality, we also have to transition back into a healthier lifestyle.  We definitely adopted the midwestern comfort food eating habits, after all, we did find every candy shop, fudge store, and ice cream parlor in town.  Now, we’re going to get serious with some clean and healthy eating.  I’ve decided to follow a 2 week meal plan to clean eating from the amazing blogger over on Bless This Mess, Please We have the steak carnitas tacos cookin’ right now.

4. I am currently suffering from a pretty bad chin splint.  Most likely from running a mile through the St. Paul airport in flip flops, holding my 18 pound baby, trying to keep up with my marathon runner husband, all the while hearing our names blasting over the paging system for our final boarding call.  Learning that just because you are in the concourse does not mean you are close to your gate was a pretty important lesson.

5. We are in the throughs of missing people right now.  With long vacations, come long breaks from people.  Teaching a child how to be present with the people you’re with, while still missing those far away is a hard concept.  This conversation also reminds me of how terribly bad I miss my sister and her crew, whom may have moved back into the country, but they’re still a full country’s length away. Miss you sis.

For those of you vacationing, or coming home, or visiting loved ones, or missing those far away, we’re right there with you.

And for those of you who have a nanny, a maid, and a cook waiting for you when you come home from your vacation…. now, that’s a true vacation.

Much love,

Kristin